Currently …

I’m borrowing the idea for this post from my friend Kate. I guess “Currently…” has been around for years, but I’m a million years late to blogging (at least this time around), and it sounds like a fun way to remember to post semi-regularly.

I’m currently

Loving …

This is a challenging one. I guess I’m loving that I finally have a local place to go and write again. The library on campus is my happy place.

Library writing

Reading …

The Sky Is Everywhere cover

Allegedly, I’m reading The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. I like it. Nelson’s writing is lyrical and gorgeous, but I’m just not feeling the vibe at the moment. I’m tired and run down, and instead of reading at night, I’ve been scrolling aimlessly on my phone until I nearly pass out.

I’ve just finished two books that I. Could. Not. Put. Down. Six of Crows and What Remains gave me the most glorious book hangovers, and maybe I’m not ready to start something else right away.

I feel like I’m going to be disowned from being an official book nerd when I see people who are reading a book a day or even a book a week, and I’m struggling to read a few chapters a day. This is only the fifth book I’ve started this year. *hides*

If you count picture books, I have a better track record. The toddler and I read an average of five books a night. Some are the same every day (Goodnight Moon, Dear Zoo, Little Owl’s Night, and The ABCers), but I do actually read something.

Watching …

I’m in a rut with my TV viewing. Every time I sit down to watch TV, I feel like I should be doing something else … or I fall asleep. I’m only really paying attention to Game of Thrones Season 5.

Game of Thrones s5Listening to …

Sigu Ros

Sigur Ros when I need to be calm.

If I’m driving the car that has a radio, I listen to the contemporary pop station.

When I’m writing and need inspiration, I listen to my WIP playlist that has Imagine Dragons, Panic! At the Disco, Troye Sivan, and Lord Huronamong others.

Thinking about …

I keep wondering if I’m the right person to write my WIP. I can’t help thinking about the dynamics of writing outside of one’s experience. I’ve ALWAYS defaulted to writing about boys, or as one of my CPs says, “sports boys with issues.” My finished manuscript was less outside my experience because it was dual POV and dealt with depression, but it’s still a complicated balance.

Lately, I’ve been reading so much about representation and sensitivity that I’m second guessing myself. Maybe I’m not qualified to write the books that are in my head. Maybe I should stick to my own experiences. Truthfully, my OWN experience isn’t something I care to revisit. I write to escape, to live a different life, to see the world from a different angle.

My “sports boys with issues” have a lot to do with my psychology degree and the fact that I always wanted to go into the medical field. I wanted to be a physical therapist, but I let people talk me out of it. I regret that. I want to at least have a taste of the world I never entered, so I research the hell out of everything I write. Maybe it’s not enough. Maybe it is.

I don’t know anymore.

Anticipating …

Hands

My WIP. Despite my fears, I’m anxious to finish this draft, and I’m anxious to let my betas and CPs read it.

Kiss pic

Making me happy …

This kid!

Caelan - hat

 

 

One thought on “Currently …

  1. HI!

    It can be hard to write outside your experience, but I think harder to NOT write the book in your head. Sometimes reading and writing need to be escapist. Sometimes we need to explore outside of ourselves. Write what you need to write.

    I had a really hard time reading THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE too. I enjoyed it, but I never quite connected to the characters. Oddly, I think, because of the lush and slightly magical writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

