THE RAVEN KING – Review of a lost king

The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love the Raven Boys series. Like seriously, I love all the characters, and the story had me completely engrossed through the first three books. I expected to be just as entranced in the final book. But this book is slooooow. The threads I expected to be woven together still remain hanging in tatters, and I feel like the author’s heart isn’t completely in this book as much as it has been in the other three.

This final installment of the Raven Boys books feels fragmented. Even at the end, the (spoilers)main characters are scattered. I wanted them to come together one last time, but there’s no farewell. Nothing to make me feel that they are my valiant band of magicians and kings. (end spoiler)

I wanted to love THE RAVEN KING. I wanted the feels that others have had, but I didn’t have a book hangover. I didn’t even shed a tear, and that hurt more than being wrecked by the series. Maybe I missed something. Maybe I skimmed because I got a slow start. I still love this series, but this wasn’t the send off I felt it deserved.

Raven King

View all my reviews

One thought on “THE RAVEN KING – Review of a lost king

  1. That’s unfortunate. I haven’t read them but it’s too bad to hear things are not resolved at the end. Stories in book need endings that tie them up in bows, not leave you hanging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

