Unmoored and righting myself again

unmoored

June is more than halfway over and I haven’t blogged once. Granted, I have an awesome interview with Cindy Dorminy about her debut novel TUNED INTO YOU coming up on Friday, June 24. I promise you’ll want to come back for that!

I’ve been in a reading/writing rut. After I finished THE RAVEN KING, I couldn’t find anything I wanted to read. I started a few books, but nothing clicked with my current mood. Then I finished my WIP and felt extremely unmoored. I haven’t NOT been working on a WIP since 2013, and now I don’t know where I’m going with new material.

Finally, I went to the library and checked out Jeff Zentner’s THE SERPENT KING. I’ve been wanting to read it ever since it came out, and I haven’t checked out a book from the library in so long that my card had expired. So I fixed two problems at once: New reading material and a new library card.

Of course, two days later, I ended up at the bookstore and found a book I’ve been waiting for. For some reason, I thought THE SEASON OF YOU AND ME by Robin Constantine wasn’t being released until September, but I was wrong. I checked earlier this month, and it came out in May. My library didn’t have it. I don’t know if it was checked out or if they just don’t have it period (I was wrangling a overly excited toddler at the time, so I couldn’t look it up), but I found it at the bookstore and bought it.

Now I’m reading two books at the same time, and I’m not upset with this plan at all. They’re both good reads.

Since I started writing again three years ago, I have had weeks sometimes where I didn’t write a word, but I was always mulling over characters and thinking about plot lines. Now, I’m stuck. I have some ideas, but nothing is fleshed out enough to start writing. I don’t even have an MC establishing some personality in the back of my mind.

My first manuscript was based off of a story I started in high school. After reconnecting with my high school BFF/writing partner/kindred spirit, she asked what was up with my writing. Why hadn’t I published or been working on publishing? What was going on with those characters we spent hours in school discussing like they were our own friends? Nudge, nudge. Needless to say, I picked up my laptop and got to work.

My next manuscript was a spin off of that. My MC had had a minor role in the high school version of FTP, and I’d never forgotten a line about how he killed his best friend. He didn’t fit in FTP anymore, but his story was awesome, and he kept interjecting and wanting me to write about him.

I have a few spin offs/sequels I’d like to work on for FTP and SB, but I really need another stand alone before I can let myself revisit my previous worlds. After my CPs and betas finish SB and I do edits, I can work on querying, but meanwhile, I want a new story. I have an idea that’s poking around in the back of my mind, but it’s not even close to a semi-fleshed out plot like my previous two manuscripts have been. I barely have characters. I think I need to brainstorm and free write and see where they lead me, but that’s kind of scary, and I don’t want them to end up sounding like characters I’ve already written. If they don’t have a storyline, how do I know what they need to do? *SIGH*

It’s not a big deal. One or two months without a new WIP isn’t the end of the world. It doesn’t make me less of a writer (yes, I have to keep telling myself this), but it sure feels weird!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

